NaBloPoMo– Challenge Accepted

It’s fate. During the month that I decide to post two posts in a row, I learn that there is such a thing as NaBloPoMo. Yes, it is a play off of NaNoWriMo (which I have done several times and failed to varying degrees). NaBloPoMo is National Blog Posting Month and the challenge is to write one post a day. I can do this. I will do this. I am already doing this (it’s only been three days, but that counts)! There are even prompts to help keep me inspired.

I considered participating in NaNoWriMo this month and decided that while I would make the conscious effort to work on the novel I started last year and still haven’t finished, I would not give myself any added stress this month. One of the big draws for me with NaNoWriMo was the compulsion to write every day. One of the downsides, was that I could “skip” a day and not hit my word count and convince myself that I could make it up the next day. This lead to several years of failing to complete the challenge. I had a feeling that I wouldn’t be able to commit to that 2000 words a day this year, so I cut myself some (rare) slack and let it go telling myself that I could just write a blog post every day. And then, as if by magic, I stumbled upon NaBloPoMo.

I’m still a blogging novice in many ways, even though I have been doing it for years. Well, I started years ago, but have kept up with the blog with fluctuating levels of commitment. Now, I am starting to explore more within the blogging communities and finding different bloggers that I can relate to and learning different tips and tricks to keep myself motivated to just keep writing. Publicly. I’ve found that to be accountable to someone other than myself, even if it is just to my small group of lovely and amazing followers, has done wonders as an incentive to keep writing.

Being a writer and a mom has seemed to be mutually exclusive for me at times. But as I discussed with a friend and colleague recently, I’m getting to the age where I need to start developing my Plan B and even actively plotting my “second act”. I cannot wait until my kids are grown and out of the house to do this. In fact, I should have been working on this all along. I will cut myself a little slack because being the single mom of twins is freakin’ hard, damn-it! However, the time for procrastination has passed. It is time for me to dive in and do what I want to do, instead of what I have to do. No one is going to do it but me and this blog challenge is as good a place to start as any.

You know what Lao Tse said about the journey of a thousand miles. Just one step. Just one post. One day at a time.

NaBloPoMo_1114_465x287_badges

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo– Challenge Accepted

Leave a Reply

