To market, to market

grocerystore

When the boys were babies, getting my groceries delivered was a matter of survival. Bringing two infants shopping was just not happening. We would have starved or I suppose I would have had to pay a babysitter so that I could get to the food store. Either way, online shopping was and is a godsend and a true example of how technology is life-saving. That, and you know, pacemakers and laser surgeries and such.

As every mother knows, bringing young kids to the grocery store takes the planning skills of a four-star general. You have to know your troops strengths and weaknesses. Timing is everything. And for the love of all that is good in the world, you have to have a plan. You can’t just be forging ahead willy-nilly. One wrong move and you are doubling back through the store for something you forgot and someone will get thirsty and someone else will knock down an endcap and the probability that everyone will end up in tears is nearly 100%.

Once the boys were able to sit in the cart together, getting groceries delivered was too much of a luxury. I had to plan our trips carefully, but if I managed it right after a meal and right before a nap, I was usually golden. It was even a nice little outing for us. Once the boys were too big to be in the cart, however, all bets were off.

I have been the mom in the store with the crying child. I have been the mom in the store pointing out a child throwing a fit to my own children and begging them to not be that child. I have been the mom in the store to actually have to leave a cart full of groceries and carry one of my children screaming out the door. I even got lucky enough to run into someone I knew on my way to the parking lot. She let me go with a nervous laugh and a knowing look.

We’ve all been there. At least I think we have.

I think the first thing a mom does when she gets an hour or two to herself is try to figure out how to squeeze in a trip to the grocery store. Walking those aisles in relative silence is almost as extravagant as using the bathroom alone.

But sometimes, no matter how hard one tries, a trip to the grocery store under sub-optimal conditions must occur. And it is its own special brand of hell.

Luckily, there is a secret weapon. Delivery.

A few weeks ago when my poor little pookie was up all night tossing his cookies and I was up all night cleaning it up, I knew what had to be done. I sat down at the computer and checked out our grocery store’s delivery schedule. Turns out you can get same day delivery. You just need a four-hour lead time. No problem!

Tonight, with an impending storm and Thanksgiving afoot, I was faced with the reality that I could do a full super-plus grocery shopping run with my sons after a long day of school and work (with a good portion of the people in my town), attempt to squeeze it in the two hours that they will be in school tomorrow (with the rest of the people in my town), or spend my lunch hour shopping online and picking it up at the store.

You know, of course, which one I chose. The $7.95 shopping fee was money well-spent. I would pay even more for my sanity if I had to. At least I think I would.

So now, instead of just getting home and putting groceries away, I am typing this blog in praise of grocery delivery/pick-up. Technology is awesome, indeed.

2 thoughts on “To market, to market

  1. I so remember the crying child stage of shopping. I wish we had the delivery/online ordering option in my town, especially when my youngest was littler. You have my empathy, and I hope your cookie tosser is feeling better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

